The Media Pluralism Monitor 2015 is financed by the European Commission and coordinated by the Centre for Media Pluralism and Media Freedom (CMPF) of the Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies, European University Institute (EUI) in Florence, Italy and IRMO is project parner. The monitor was initially created in 2009 and simplified in 2014. In 2015 it was streamlined and tested. The monitor is created to assess risks to media pluralism in European Union countries based on a number of legal, economic and socio-political variables. The risks are divided into four domains: basic protection, market plurality, political independence and social inclusiveness. In 2015 it was implemented in 19 European Union countries: Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. The implementation in Croatia was carried out by Paško Bilić, PhD, (local coordinator) from the Department for Culture and Communication, Antonija Petričušić, PhD, Faculty of Law, University of Zagreb and Ivan Balabanić, PhD, Catholic University Zagreb with the help of the expert panel from the members of the academic community, members of regulatory bodies, non-governmental organizations and professional associations.

Risks to media pluralism are scored as low risk (0 – 33%), medium risk (34 – 66%) and high risk (67 – 100%). The Croatian media system scored low risk in the basic domain (28%) which is the same for all other countries implementing the monitor, except for Romania which scored medium risk. The market pluralism domain also scored low risk (29%) as in Cyprus, Malta, Slovenia and Slovakia; while Austria, Czech Republic, Germany, Ireland, Latvia, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania and Sweden scored medium risk; and Finland, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland and Spain scored high risk. The political independence domain scored medium risk (40%) for Croatia as in Austria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ireland, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain. Other countries scored low risk. The social inclusiveness domain for Croatia scored a medium risk (55%) as in Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain. Other countries scored low risk.


Full results of the 2015 pilot implementation can be viewed comparatively by risk domains and indicators or by individual country reports here:

Media Pluralism Monitor 2015 – Results

Skip to content